Remembering Jo-Anne Wilkie

Longtime Guild member and current board member Jo-Anne Wilkie died on November 7, 2019. Jo-Anne was involved with the Guild for many years as an actor and administrator, paralleling her involvement with the arts at the St. Clair Art Association and other area organizations.

Jo-Anne was also a talented singer and vocal director, leading and participating in numerous choirs and ensembles in her long musical career.

We’ll expand this notice in the next few days, as we wish to remember our friend more fully.

Visitation will be on Sunday, November 10, 2019, from 2:00 to 8:00 p.m. at L.C. Friederichs Funeral Home, 214 Trumbull St., Saint Clair. The funeral mass will be on Monday, November 11, 2019, at 11:00 a.m. at Holy Cross in Marine City.

Community Sings coming up in October, November and December

Come join us at the St. Clair Library for some great evenings of sing-along fun! There’s no charge, so warm up your voices and come on out on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m.

  • Thursday, October 17 – We’ll be introducing our new song books (“Rise Up Singing”) which include over 1200 songs. Samples will be available for viewing and you can buy your own copy if you want for just $24.00. This should make it easier for our song leaders to put together a program of songs.
  • Thursday, November 21 – Our song leaders will be Judy and Mike (JAM), who led one of the Community Sings last year and we really enjoyed their program.
  • Thursday, December 19 – Tom Kephart will be the song leader. He was song leader in March with a program of road and travel songs; there will probably be quite a few holiday songs in this program!

Thanks to the St. Clair Library for hosting these great community events. By the way, recent studies have shown that singing helps improve your immune system as well as increasing the oxygen your body needs. So do it for your health, too!

Susquatch rehearsals

“Susquatch” is a barbershop-style vocal group that is supported by the Guild. It originally formed for the city of St. Clair’s sesquicentennial celebrations and continued after those events ended. The name is a play on “sesquicentennial.” The group is open to all interested singers, male and female.

Susquatch normally has rehearsals at the Guild building on Monday evenings, but for the next few months they’ll be taking place at the home of Brian Moss. For more details and directions to Brian’s place, leave us a message using our Contact form and we’ll get back to you.